ECONO LODGE DOWNTOWN

401 South 2nd St., Louisville, KY 40202 United States (USA)
View Map 1-800-230-4134
2.0 Star Downtown Hotel in Jefferson County
38.2527 -85.75386
Check availability
Average
3.5/ 5

Based on 126 guest reviews

Show Guest Reviews
  • Complimentary breakfast is offered
  • The Avg. Group Discount is 22.1%!
  • Gym / Fitness Center Available
  • 97 sleeping rooms in hotel
  • 3 floors in hotel
  • Check out: 11:00 AM
  • Group friendly rating of 10.0/10

Check Current Prices


Show Calendar

Show Calendar



Include Discounts:

Room Types

Check Rates 1 King AAA Rate Accessible Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King AAA Rate Accessible Mobility Accessible Roll in Shower 1 Bedroom Suite
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King AAA Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King AAA Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King AAA Rate Hot Tub 2 Persons Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Accessible Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Accessible Mobility Accessible Roll in Shower 1 Bedroom Suite 1st Floor
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Bed Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Bed Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Bed Hot Tub 2 Persons Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Govt Military Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Govt Military Rate Hot Tub 2 Persons Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Hot Tub 2 Persons Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Senior Rate Accessible Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Senior Rate Accessible Mobility Accessible Roll in Shower 1 Bedroom Suite
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Senior Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Senior Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Senior Rate Hot Tub 2 Persons Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds AAA Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds AAA Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds Govt Military Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds Govt Military Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Boar
Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds Senior Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds Senior Rate Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates Double 2 Double Beds Bed and Breakfast
Non-Smoking
Check Rates Double King Size Bed Bed and Breakfast
Non-Smoking
Check Rates Double Room 2 Double Beds
Non-Smoking
Check Rates Double Room 2 Double Beds
Smoking
Check Rates Standard Room 1 King Bed
Non-Smoking
Check Rates Standard Room 1 King Bed
Smoking
Check Rates Standard Room, 1 King or 2 Double Beds
Non-Smoking

Local Attractions

4th Street Live, Convention center is only 3 blocks from hotel, Slugger Musium, Sfeggetti factory, Muhhamad Ali musium, churchill down, Expo center.

Verified Reviews of Econo Lodge Downtown

Below are the verified reviews from guests that we have booked recently:
"Terrible customer service "
Overall Score2.0/ 5
The cleanliness was good and the breakfast was good. I was happy that they had hard boiled eggs and oatmeal at breakfast. However I dreaded when Tim was working at the front desk. I had called a week and a half prior to my arrival to make reservations and explained that I needed to charge two separate credit cards. I asked if I could do that online or if I could do this on the phone with him. Tim stated that I should proceed online and when I checked into the hotel I should explain that I would like the last two nights on a separate card. When I checked in Tim was at the front desk and I told him about charging a separate card. That's when he told me it was not possible. I explained that not even two weeks ago, he himself suggested I do exactly what he was saying was not possible. Then he stated that it is only possible when making reservations on certain web sites. When I asked him why he didn't say that when speaking with me, he responded with a terrible attitude that it's my fault and I should have said what site I was on. Needless to say my debate continued with him. The other front desk folks were nice but not him.
(Individual traveler, booked 1 room), from US flag
04-Aug-2014 Verified Review, stayed from Sun Jul 27 to Fri Aug 01 2014 at a $79.00 average nightly rate.
Response from Management on 14-Aug-2014:
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We truly apologize that you were not satisfied with one of our staff members, Tim. I am sorry you were given incorrect information about the credit card charges. Tim normally does a great job explaining a guest's questions and I will discuss and explain with him how to handle these kind of questions. I am glad that you found a clean and comfortable room. Please give us another change to remedy your stay and we will make sure that you will experience our superior service!
"Lovely Stay"
Overall Score5.0/ 5
The staff was respectful and the room was neat.
(Individual traveler, booked 1 room), from US flag
01-Jun-2014 Verified Review
Response from Management on 14-Aug-2014:
We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel! It was also great to hear that the staff did a great job serving you. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Please stay with us again!
"Only So-so "
Overall Score3.0/ 5
Room was clean, but smelled as if previous guests had smoked in it, though a non-smoking room had been requested and promised. The Wi-Fi was weak and all but useless. Shower temperature was tepid and the flow weak, but it was fairly comfortable and very convenient for my purposes.
(Individual traveler, booked 1 room), from US flag
10-Apr-2014 Verified Review, stayed from Tue Apr 08 to Thu Apr 10 2014 at a $79.00 average nightly rate.
Response from Management on 14-Aug-2014:
I would like to thank you for your review. We take all feedback that we receive to heart and use the guests' comments contained within to make improvements to our property. Our #1 goal here at Econo Lodge Downtown is customer service. I would like to apologize to you for any inconvenience that you experienced during your time at our hotel. Please assure that issues that you have explained have been addressed properly and we hope to stay with us again!
"Pretty nice."
Overall Score3.0/ 5
We would stay at this location again. We came down for a concert at the YUM Center. The hotel was within walking distance to everywhere we needed to be. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean with the exception of burn marks on the bathtub (we had a smoking room). We booked a room for my brother as well. His room was clean with the exception of finding hair in his shower.
(Individual traveler, booked 1 room), from US flag
10-Feb-2014 Verified Review, stayed from Sun Feb 09 to Mon Feb 10 2014 at a $79.00 average nightly rate.
Response from Management on 14-Aug-2014:
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review about our hotel. I apologize for the burn mark and hair in the bath tub. I am glad that everything else worked great during your stay and please stay with us again when you are in Louisville!

Customer Reviews of Econo Lodge Downtown

3.5 out of 5. Based on 126 guest reviews , Average

Property Description

The EconoLodge Downtown offers affordable accommodations in the heart of downtown. This Louisville,KY hotel is ideally located within walking distance of the Kentucky InternationalConvention Center and Fourth Street Live entertainment and retaildistrict.Papa John's Cardinal Stadium, the Louisville Zoo,Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory,Kentucky Six Flags Kingdom theme park and the Louisville International Airport area just minutes away. Interstate65, Interstate71 and Interstate64 area just two blocks away, making us highly accessible to the beautiful downtown area. The University of Louisville, the Kentucky Exposition Center,Sullivan University and the Louisville Science Center area is nearby.A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges can be found in the vicinity. Guests of this Louisville, KY hotel are invited to enjoy many fine features and amenities like: •Freecontinentalbreakfast&freecoffee •Freehigh-speedInternetaccess •Freelocalcalls •Exerciseroom Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like access

Details / Other Expenses

Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Year of Last Renovation: 2010
Floors: 3
Rooms: 97
Corridors: All Rooms Have Exterior Hallways
Non Smoking Rooms: 66
Handicap Rooms: 4
Suites: 1
Room Windows: Windows Do Open
Cleaning Frequency: Daily
Meeting Rooms: 0
Dist. to Food/Bars: 0.5 Mi
Dist. to 24hr Restaurant: 0.5 Mi
Dist. to Nearest Gym: 1.0 Mi
Policies / Expenses
Cancellation:
General Cancellation policy is 24 Hrs Prior to Arrival. But it is different for events and some weekends.
Nightly Parking: 5.00
Total Taxes: 15.50%
Total Misc Fees: $0.00 USD
(mandatory resort fees/taxes)
State Tax: 6.00 Per Night
Occupancy Tax: 7.50 Per Night
City Tax: 1.00 Per Night
Parking Fee: 5.00 Per Night

Amenities / Features


Pet Friendly? Sorry, pets are not allowed.

  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Central location
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Complimentary newspaper
  • Credit card accepted: Mastercard/Visa
  • Credit card accepted: American Express
  • Credit card accepted: Discover
  • Credit card accepted: Diners Club
  • Credit card accepted: JCB
  • Electronic key card
  • Elevator
  • Facilities for the disabled
  • Fax available
  • Fitness and health center
  • Free local calls
  • Hairdryer available
  • Handicap accessible
  • Ice Maker
  • Internet - wireless
  • Ironing facilities
  • Non-smoking rooms
  • 24 hours opened
  • Quiet location
  • Refrigerator
  • Self controlled heating/cooling system
  • Shower
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Telephone in all rooms
  • Television
  • Voicemail

Airport & Shuttle Information

The Airport is about 8 miles from the hotel. One way taxi expense is about $15 to $20.00

Airport Shuttle? Sorry, no airport shuttle available.

Group vs. Individual Rates at Econo Lodge Downtown

Rate fluctuations of Econo Lodge Downtown

This graph illustrates trends of sleeping room prices for both group/meeting prices and the most competitive individual traveler prices we could find at the time the group offer was submitted. The most competitive group discount displayed is 37.7% in the month of July 2015 and the highest average individual rate is $147 in the month of October 2014. This chart will show past seasonality and also project future months. If you are flexible with dates, you may want to consider staying at Econo Lodge Downtown in a month when rates are lower.

Testimonials: Why use Hotel Planner?

Testimonials icon
"This is a great site -- I am working on three different trips for our very active music department and we have booked hotels, airline and buses. I am telling everyone I know about your site." S.F. - San Francisco, CA

Find Out More Check Rates