417 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801 United States (USA)
View Map Reservations: 1-800-881-1523
2.5 Star Highway Hotel in Rockingham County
43.07579 -70.7791
Check availability

Based on 359 guest reviews

Show Guest Reviews
  • We have an indoor pool
  • Complimentary breakfast is offered
  • The Avg. Group Discount is 5.2%!
  • Gym / Fitness Center Available
  • 92 sleeping rooms in hotel
  • Check out: 11:00am
  • Groups/Meetings rating of 6.4/10
  • 2 meeting rooms in property

Check Current Prices

Room Types

Check Rates2 Double Beds Standard Room Free WiFi
Check RatesStandard Double
Check RatesStandard Room 1 King Bed
Check RatesStandard Room 2 Double Beds
Check RatesStandard Room, 1 King or 2 Double Beds

Local Attractions

Historic Downtown Portsmouth; Strawbery Banke Museum; Prescott Park; USS Albacore Museum; Water Country Water park; Beaches

Verified Reviews of Anchorage Inn & Suites

Below are the verified reviews from guests that we have booked recently:
"Poor Service, Not Clean, No Response from Manager"
Overall Score2.0/ 5
I requested hotel bids for a group event. My only requirement was an indoor pool submitted to bids. We got here and pool has been closed all summer, we were not notified, we would have booked elsewhere had we known. We were offered the use a pool at a best western, which is close by, but you have to travel through a busy traffic circle to get there. We booked a block of several rooms 6 months in advance. The rooms were scattered everywhere. They are updating the hotel, however they are dirty. Questionable stains on the throw pillows, walls are filthy. Walls near sink had hair on them. wall by the door appeared to have food particles or other substance on them. Tub was probably "clean" but stained from use. Also black mold in the bathroom. Phone did not work upon arrival. Front staff just sighed when we complained, as though they get complained at all day long. I demanded to speak to the manager and they said a manager was not available, but would have them call me in the morning, concerning my request for a discount, due to their not meeting the terms of the contract. I did not hear from anyone. Even at the group rate discounted price, it was not worth it, especially without the pool. I emailed Andrea, who had negotiated the group rate with, a few times prior to our arrival, with my concerns about recent poor reviews and that I had read a few weeks back that pool was out of service. She sent me a reply, but did not address any of my questions. Just merely stated what the room amenities were. Dept and she did not respond. Approx two weeks ago, I received an email form another woman, asking if we had a VIP in our group that they could offer free upgrades to. I responded that my husband was the 1st Captain of the FKFD Dept and she never responded, so apparently that was not VIP enough. What hotel asks if you have a VIP in your group. Shouldn't all customers be treated as VIP? To ask and not respond, is just plain rude. They also automatically charge $50 incidentals fee, which is refunded if there is not damage to the room. Who does that?! They already have the card on file, why charge ahead and then refund? I am usually not picky. I don't demand immaculate, but clean, having everything functioning properly, along with friendly staff should not be too much to expect. When I went to the desk to inquire about the phone not working, He just let out a big sigh and looked at his coworker like "here we go again" AT that point, I even apologized, stating I know it is not personally their fault and I don't mean to give them a hard time, but I was just frustrated. That was not taken well either. He came to our room to check the phone and said, "look, I Know you really hate us, but whatever you do, please don't blah, blah blah. .it really messes things up." Really?! Also key cards did not work in several of the exterior doors and some of our group had to get their room keys reprogrammed, and they did not work consistently as a room key. These cards were kept separately and not with credit cards or the phone. Not worth the price and not worth the aggravation. Steer clear of this hotel.
(Group coordinator, booked 10 rooms), from US flag
10-Sep-2016 Verified Review, stayed from Fri Sep 09 to Sun Sep 11 2016 at a $139.00 group rate (6% discount).
"Middle of the Road Accommodations With Helpful Staff"
Overall Score3.0/ 5
We booked 14 rooms on very short notice and I found the staff to be very helpful as we worked together to assign the rooms in advance so that "check in" would go as smooth as possible. The rooms were clean but small but they had all the basic amenities. Again the staff were very helpful, friendly and co operative.
(Group coordinator, booked 16 rooms), from US flag
01-Mar-2016 Verified Review, stayed from Sat Feb 27 to Sun Feb 28 2016 at a $79.00 group rate.

Customer Reviews of Anchorage Inn & Suites

3.5 out of 5. Based on 359 guest reviews, Average

Details / Other Expenses

Check In:3:00pm
Check Out:11:00am
Year of Last Renovation:2008
Corridors:All Rooms Have Interior Hallways
Non Smoking Rooms:76
Handicap Rooms:
Room Windows:Windows Do Open
Cleaning Frequency:Daily
Meeting Rooms:2 View Spaces
Meeting Space: sq. feet
Banquet Space:Holds people
Dist. to Food/Bars: 0.3 Mi
Dist. to 24hr Restaurant: 0.3 Mi
Dist. to Nearest Gym: 2.0 Mi
Pool Info:
Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi. 8am-11pm. 10pm-11pm adults only (no children)
Policies / Expenses
24 Hours
Nightly Parking:N/C
Typical Group Deposit:$125.00
Total Taxes: 9.00%
Total Misc Fees:$0.00 USD
(mandatory resort fees/taxes)
Occupancy Tax: 9.00%
Food and Beverage Tax: 9.00%
Meeting Wireless Internet Fee:19.95 Per Day
Food and Beverage Service Charge:18.00%
Avg. Continental Breakfast Cost: 6.95 Per Person
Avg. Boxed Lunch Cost:14.95 Per Person
Morning Break Cost: 6.95 Per Person
Afternoon Break Cost: 6.95 Per Person
Banquet Soda: 2.95 Per Person
Banquet Bottled Water: 1.95 Per Person

Amenities / Features

Pet Friendly? Yes! Pets are allowed.
We have four, pet friendly rooms.Need to make reservation, please contact the hotel for availability

  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • ATM
  • Baggage storage facilities
  • Bus parking
  • Central location
  • Clothes drying
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Complimentary newspaper
  • Concierge service
  • Credit card accepted: Mastercard/Visa
  • Credit card accepted: American Express
  • Credit card accepted: Discover
  • Electronic key card
  • Elevator
  • Facilities for the disabled
  • Fax available
  • Fitness and health center
  • Free local calls
  • Hairdryer available
  • Handicap accessible
  • Central heating
  • Ice Maker
  • Internet - wireless
  • Free WiFi Internet
  • Ironing facilities
  • Jacuzzi
  • Kitchenette in room
  • Laundry facilities
  • Movies in room
  • Microwave in room
  • Non-smoking rooms
  • 24 hours opened
  • Pets allowed
  • Private bathroom in room
  • Private car parking
  • Private garden grounds
  • Quiet location
  • Radio in room
  • Refrigerator
  • Sauna
  • Self controlled heating/cooling system
  • Shower
  • Swimming pool - indoor
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone in all rooms
  • Telephone - Free local calls
  • Television
  • TV - Free Cable
  • TV Channel: HBO
  • Travellers cheques accepted
  • TV room
  • Voicemail

Airport & Shuttle Information

Logan Airport Boston, MA - 1 hour southManchester NH airport - 45 min south westPortland ME airport - 45 min north

Airport Shuttle? Sorry, no airport shuttle available.

Breakfast Information

Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast. Served 6am-9amWaffles, hard boiled eggs, muffins & Danish, English muffins, bagels, assorted breads, assorted cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit, assorted juices, tea,coffee

Previously known as:
Anchorage Inns & Suites

Group vs. Individual Rates at Anchorage Inn & Suites

Rate fluctuations of Anchorage Inn & Suites

The graph above is trends of room rates for both group/meeting prices and the lowest online individual prices we could find at the time the group/meeting bid was submitted. The most competitive group discount displayed is 19.8% in the month of February 2016 and the highest average individual rate is $172 in the month of July 2015. This chart will show past seasonality and also project future months. If you are flexible with dates, you may want to consider staying at Anchorage Inn & Suites in a month when rates are lower.

Meeting Rooms and Banquet Rooms at Anchorage Inn & Suites

Below are the meeting, banquet, conference and event spaces at Anchorage Inn & Suites.

Feel free to use the Anchorage Inn & Suites meeting space capacities chart below to help in your event planning. Hotel Planner specializes in Portsmouth event planning for sleeping rooms and meeting space for corporate events, weddings, parties, conventions, negotiated rates and trade shows.

Meeting Room Name L x W x H
Banquet Space Layout
Crescent Tables Layout
Classroom Meeting Layout
Hollow Square Table Layout
U Shape Meeting Layout
Boardroom Meeting Space
Convention Booth Layout
Theater Layout
Reception Desk for Meeting
Registration Desk for Meeting
Portsmouth Room 24 x 16 x 8 43224/24--181012103/23535--
Close This

Portsmouth Room

Room Type:
General Meeting Room
Total Size:
432 Sq. Mi
24 x 16 x 8 Ft.
Floor Level:
Ground Level
Power Outlets:
Natural Light?:
Built In Screens?
Built In Stage?
Built In A/V?
Amenities Available
  • Coffee/Tea Setup
  • Food/Beverage
  • WIFI Internet
  • Podium
  • White Board
  • Flip Chart
  • Air Conditioning
Half Day Rental:
$100.00 USD
Full Day Rental:
$125.00 USD
Evening Rental:
$100.00 USD
Boardroom 22 x 12 x 8 264--/----------12--/--------
Close This


Room Type:
Total Size:
264 Sq. Mi
22 x 12 x 8 Ft.
Floor Level:
Ground Level
Power Outlets:
Natural Light?:
Built In Screens?
Built In Stage?
Built In A/V?
Amenities Available
  • Coffee/Tea Setup
  • Food/Beverage
  • Projection Equip.
  • WIFI Internet
  • Podium
  • LAN Internet
  • Microphone
  • White Board
  • Flip Chart
  • Air Conditioning
Half Day Rental:
$100.00 USD
Full Day Rental:
$125.00 USD
Evening Rental:
$100.00 USD

Testimonials: Why use Hotel Planner?

Testimonials icon
"I just want to say thank you again for all of your help. Your site has been a great tool in planning my family reunion. I love the website booking page you have set up for my group." E.W. - Miami, FL

Find out more Check Rates