ECONO LODGE DOWNTOWN

401 South 2nd St., Louisville, KY 40202 United States (USA)
View Map Reservations: 1-800-230-4134
2.0 Star Downtown Hotel in Jefferson County
38.2527-85.75386
Check availability
Average
3.5/ 5

Based on 180 guest reviews

Show Guest Reviews
  • Complimentary breakfast is offered
  • The Avg. Group Discount is 17.4%!
  • Gym / Fitness Center Available
  • 97 sleeping rooms in hotel
  • 3 floors in hotel
  • Check out: 11:00 AM
  • Group friendly rating of 10.0/10

Check Current Prices






Include Discounts:

Room Types

Check Rates 1 King Accessible Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Accessible Mobility Accessible Roll in Shower 1 Bedroom Suite 1st Floor
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Bed Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Bed Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Bed Hot Tub 2 Persons Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates 1 King Hot Tub 2 Persons Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room
Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Non-Smoking
Check Rates 2 Double Beds Free High Speed Wireless Coffee Maker in Room Iron and Ironing Board
Smoking
Check Rates Double 2 Double Beds Bed and Breakfast
Non-Smoking
Check Rates Double King Size Bed Bed and Breakfast
Non-Smoking
Check Rates Double Room 2 Double Beds
Non-Smoking
Check Rates Double Room 2 Double Beds
Smoking
Check Rates Standard Room 1 King Bed
Non-Smoking
Check Rates Standard Room 1 King Bed
Smoking
Check Rates Standard Room, 1 King or 2 Double Beds
Non-Smoking

Local Attractions

4th Street Live, Convention center is only 3 blocks from hotel, Slugger Musium, Sfeggetti factory, Muhhamad Ali musium, churchill down, Expo center.

Verified Reviews of Econo Lodge Downtown

Below are the verified reviews from guests that we have booked recently:
"Evening Excursion to Louisville"
Overall Score2.0/ 5
There were three fights overnight from 2 to 4 am. I know the Econo Lodge cannot control who can stay in their rooms and this is not completely their fault but they are a little guilty by association. So fair warning to all of you young drunk bachelor partiers. It doesn't take too long for the police to show up. We also couldn't order pizza from the Papa John's (their location shares the parking lot with the Econo Lodge) that night because they were robbed and had to shut down early. It is downtown so there is no shortage of other places to eat. It is a shame that the location had so many problems. I had a great time in Louisville and will go back to the city but I will pay the extra money to stay at a different hotel. I will never go back to the Econo Lodge again. They do get one star because I have read some of the other reviews and realize that the police cannot possibly be out there four times every night. My wife and I were in the wrong place at the wrong time.
(Individual traveler, booked 1 room), from US flag
19-Oct-2015 Verified Review
"Terrible customer service "
Overall Score2.0/ 5
The cleanliness was good and the breakfast was good. I was happy that they had hard boiled eggs and oatmeal at breakfast. However I dreaded when Tim was working at the front desk. I had called a week and a half prior to my arrival to make reservations and explained that I needed to charge two separate credit cards. I asked if I could do that online or if I could do this on the phone with him. Tim stated that I should proceed online and when I checked into the hotel I should explain that I would like the last two nights on a separate card. When I checked in Tim was at the front desk and I told him about charging a separate card. That's when he told me it was not possible. I explained that not even two weeks ago, he himself suggested I do exactly what he was saying was not possible. Then he stated that it is only possible when making reservations on certain web sites. When I asked him why he didn't say that when speaking with me, he responded with a terrible attitude that it's my fault and I should have said what site I was on. Needless to say my debate continued with him. The other front desk folks were nice but not him.
(Individual traveler, booked 1 room), from US flag
04-Aug-2014 Verified Review, stayed from Sun Jul 27 to Fri Aug 01 2014 at a $79.00 average nightly rate.
Response from Management on 14-Aug-2014:
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We truly apologize that you were not satisfied with one of our staff members, Tim. I am sorry you were given incorrect information about the credit card charges. Tim normally does a great job explaining a guest's questions and I will discuss and explain with him how to handle these kind of questions. I am glad that you found a clean and comfortable room. Please give us another change to remedy your stay and we will make sure that you will experience our superior service!
"Lovely Stay"
Overall Score5.0/ 5
The staff was respectful and the room was neat.
(Individual traveler, booked 1 room), from US flag
01-Jun-2014 Verified Review
Response from Management on 14-Aug-2014:
We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel! It was also great to hear that the staff did a great job serving you. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Please stay with us again!
"Only So-so "
Overall Score3.0/ 5
Room was clean, but smelled as if previous guests had smoked in it, though a non-smoking room had been requested and promised. The Wi-Fi was weak and all but useless. Shower temperature was tepid and the flow weak, but it was fairly comfortable and very convenient for my purposes.
(Individual traveler, booked 1 room), from US flag
10-Apr-2014 Verified Review, stayed from Tue Apr 08 to Thu Apr 10 2014 at a $79.00 average nightly rate.
Response from Management on 14-Aug-2014:
I would like to thank you for your review. We take all feedback that we receive to heart and use the guests' comments contained within to make improvements to our property. Our #1 goal here at Econo Lodge Downtown is customer service. I would like to apologize to you for any inconvenience that you experienced during your time at our hotel. Please assure that issues that you have explained have been addressed properly and we hope to stay with us again!
"Pretty nice."
Overall Score3.0/ 5
We would stay at this location again. We came down for a concert at the YUM Center. The hotel was within walking distance to everywhere we needed to be. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean with the exception of burn marks on the bathtub (we had a smoking room). We booked a room for my brother as well. His room was clean with the exception of finding hair in his shower.
(Individual traveler, booked 1 room), from US flag
10-Feb-2014 Verified Review, stayed from Sun Feb 09 to Mon Feb 10 2014 at a $79.00 average nightly rate.
Response from Management on 14-Aug-2014:
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review about our hotel. I apologize for the burn mark and hair in the bath tub. I am glad that everything else worked great during your stay and please stay with us again when you are in Louisville!

Summary of Verified Reviews

Summary of 965 verified reviews

The TrustYou Meta-Review is a summary of verified reviews from across the web. These summaries use state-of-the-art algorithms to analyze review data and benchmark hotels against each other so you can find and book the perfect hotel.

Learn more
73
Fair

Fair city hotel. Free internet. Fair breakfast prices. Wonderful sightseeing.

“Within walking distance to the City” “Near many tourist attractions and eateries”

Excellent City Hotel Top 3% in city
Excellent Business Hotel Top 9% in city

Good to know

  • Near city centre

    “Within walking distance to the City” “Close to the city center”

  • Poor access to parking

    “Not enough parking” “Not enough parking space”

  • Noisy

    “Building is noisy” “Traffic noisy”

  • Clean hotel facilities

    “Lobby area was being cleaned” “Clean overall”

Review highlights

Location

88/100
321 reviews

Great location. Central location with great sightseeing, dining out and shopping. Poor access to parking. Standard parking prices. Close to business sites.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Value

85/100
137 reviews

Best value for money. Fair breakfast prices. Free internet.

“Cheap clean and a stones throw from major attractions” “Great value for money” “Complimentary breakfast”

Service

74/100
219 reviews

Service is professional and friendly. Reception and management are fine.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Room

53/100
364 reviews

Great beds in large, decently cleaned rooms, but dirty in the bathrooms. Outdated, dilapidated rooms with poor A/C. Minibars and TVs are okay.

“Bathtubs looks spotless” “Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible”

WiFi

46/100
26 reviews

WiFi's cheap, but poor quality.

“Internet is spotty” “Terrible wi fi” “Wifi didn't work”

Breakfast

42/100
107 reviews

Breakfast affordable but not so tasty.

“Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired” “Worst continental breakfast”

Ranked top 55% by couples, with a score of 73

Good to know

  • Poor access to parking

    “Not enough parking” “Not enough parking space”

  • Good restaurants & bars in the area

    “Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Proximity to nightlife”

  • Wonderful sightseeing

    “Museums in walking distance” “Near many tourist attractions and eateries”

  • Near city centre

    “Within walking distance to the City” “Close to the city center”

Review highlights

Location

87/100
74 reviews

Well-located hotel, although, unfortunately the parking isn't easy. Near city centre with great sightseeing and nearby restaurants.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Service

71/100
39 reviews

Reception is decent, with overall friendly and professional service.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Cleanliness

63/100
41 reviews

Room cleanliness is acceptable. Clean hotel facilities.

“Lobby area was being cleaned” “Clean towels” “Pillows were old and stained”

Room

50/100
73 reviews

Dilapidated rooms and bathrooms. Great beds in acceptably clean rooms with good TV's.

“Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible” “Pillows were old and stained”

Breakfast

37/100
19 reviews

Bad breakfast.

“Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired” “Worst continental breakfast”

Ranked top 41% by business travelers, with a score of 75

Good to know

  • Close to business sites

    “Within a walking distance from Convention center” “Close to downtown convention center”

  • Professional service

    “Professional conference” “Smooth check-in”

  • Clean hotel facilities

    “Lobby area was being cleaned” “Clean overall”

  • Best value for money

    “Cheap clean and a stones throw from major attractions” “Great value for money”

Review highlights

Location

91/100
32 reviews

Great location. Close to business sites.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Value

88/100
18 reviews

Best value for money.

“Cheap clean and a stones throw from major attractions” “Great value for money” “Complimentary breakfast”

Service

78/100
29 reviews

Service is professional and friendly.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Room

59/100
42 reviews

Awesome beds, and reasonably clean rooms. Outdated, run-down rooms with bad bathrooms.

“Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible” “Pillows were old and stained”

Breakfast

43/100
14 reviews

Bad breakfast.

“Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired” “Worst continental breakfast”

Ranked top 41% by solo travelers, with a score of 72

Good to know

  • Bad internet service

    “Internet is spotty” “Terrible wi fi”

  • Poorly-maintained rooms

    “Bed spread needs updating” “A/c did not work”

  • Bad breakfast

    “Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired”

  • Comfortable beds

    “Clean sheets” “My wife loved the mattress”

Review highlights

Location

90/100
22 reviews

Great location.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Service

74/100
16 reviews

Friendly service.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Cleanliness

63/100
19 reviews

Room cleanliness is acceptable.

“Lobby area was being cleaned” “Clean towels” “Pillows were old and stained”

Comfort

57/100
10 reviews

Relatively comfortable, with good beds.

“A/c quit” “Clean sheets” “Building is noisy”

Room

50/100
30 reviews

Great beds, but only decently clean and poorly maintained rooms with bad bathrooms.

“Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible” “Pillows were old and stained”

Breakfast

44/100
10 reviews

Bad breakfast.

“Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired” “Worst continental breakfast”

WiFi

43/100
5 reviews

Bad internet service.

“Internet is spotty” “Terrible wi fi” “Wifi didn't work”

Ranked top 64% by families, with a score of 73

Good to know

  • Friendly service

    “Enjoyable staff” “Staff was very accommodating”

  • Great location

    “Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;”

  • Fantastic service

    “Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful”

  • Comfortable beds

    “Clean sheets” “My wife loved the mattress”

Review highlights

Location

88/100
17 reviews

Great location.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Value

83/100
6 reviews

Best value for money.

“Cheap clean and a stones throw from major attractions” “Great value for money” “Complimentary breakfast”

Service

74/100
13 reviews

Friendly service.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Comfort

53/100
6 reviews

Relatively comfortable, with good beds.

“A/c quit” “Clean sheets” “Building is noisy”

Room

52/100
16 reviews

Awesome beds, and reasonably clean rooms.

“Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible” “Pillows were old and stained”

Good to know

  • Near city centre

    “Within walking distance to the City” “Close to the city center”

  • Poor access to parking

    “Not enough parking” “Not enough parking space”

  • Noisy

    “Building is noisy” “Traffic noisy”

  • Poorly-maintained rooms

    “Bed spread needs updating” “A/c did not work”

Review highlights

Location

88/100
303 reviews

Great location. Central location with great sightseeing, dining out and shopping. Poor access to parking. Close to business sites. Standard parking prices.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Value

85/100
133 reviews

Best value for money. Fair breakfast prices. Free internet.

“Cheap clean and a stones throw from major attractions” “Great value for money” “Complimentary breakfast”

Service

76/100
213 reviews

Great reception with professional, welcoming service.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Room

53/100
346 reviews

Fairly clean, spacious rooms with great beds, but poor bathrooms. Outdated, dilapidated rooms with poor A/C. Minibars and TVs are okay.

“Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible” “Pillows were old and stained”

WiFi

50/100
23 reviews

WiFi is good value.

“Internet is spotty” “Terrible wi fi” “Decent Wi-Fi”

Breakfast

41/100
100 reviews

Breakfast affordable but not so tasty.

“Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired” “Worst continental breakfast”

Ranked top 48% by couples, with a score of 73

Good to know

  • Poor access to parking

    “Not enough parking” “Not enough parking space”

  • Wonderful sightseeing

    “Museums in walking distance” “Near many tourist attractions and eateries”

  • Near city centre

    “Within walking distance to the City” “Close to the city center”

  • Noisy

    “Building is noisy” “Traffic noisy”

Review highlights

Location

87/100
70 reviews

Well-located hotel, although, unfortunately the parking isn't easy. Near to downtown with good options for sightseeing.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Service

72/100
37 reviews

Reception is decent, with overall friendly and professional service.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Room

52/100
70 reviews

Great beds in acceptably clean rooms with good TV's. Dilapidated rooms and bathrooms.

“Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible” “Pillows were old and stained”

Breakfast

37/100
18 reviews

Bad breakfast.

“Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired” “Worst continental breakfast”

Ranked top 27% by business travelers, with a score of 76

Good to know

  • Old rooms

    “Shower head is old and low quality” “Pillows were old and stained”

  • Close to business sites

    “Within a walking distance from Convention center” “Close to downtown convention center”

  • Hotel is outdated

    “Shower head is old and low quality” “Pillows were old and stained”

  • Professional service

    “Professional conference” “Smooth check-in”

Review highlights

Location

91/100
31 reviews

Great location. Close to business sites.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Value

88/100
18 reviews

Best value for money.

“Cheap clean and a stones throw from major attractions” “Great value for money” “Complimentary breakfast”

Service

78/100
29 reviews

Service is professional and friendly.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Room

60/100
42 reviews

Awesome beds, and reasonably clean rooms. Outdated, run-down rooms with bad bathrooms.

“Bathtubs looks spotless” “Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible”

Breakfast

43/100
14 reviews

Bad breakfast.

“Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired” “Worst continental breakfast”

Ranked top 30% by solo travelers, with a score of 73

Good to know

  • Bad breakfast

    “Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired”

  • Great location

    “Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;”

  • Friendly service

    “Enjoyable staff” “Staff was very accommodating”

  • Fantastic service

    “Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful”

Review highlights

Location

90/100
20 reviews

Great location.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Service

75/100
15 reviews

Friendly service.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Cleanliness

63/100
17 reviews

Room cleanliness is acceptable.

“Bathtubs looks spotless” “Lobby area was being cleaned” “Pillows were old and stained”

Room

50/100
27 reviews

Bad rooms with terrible bathrooms. Awesome beds, and reasonably clean rooms.

“Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible” “Pillows were old and stained”

WiFi

43/100
5 reviews

Bad internet service.

“Internet is spotty” “Terrible wi fi” “Wifi didn't work”

Breakfast

42/100
9 reviews

Bad breakfast.

“Hard boiled eggs” “Complimentary breakfast left something to be desired” “Worst continental breakfast”

Ranked top 66% by families, with a score of 72

Good to know

  • Friendly service

    “Enjoyable staff” “Staff was very accommodating”

  • Fantastic service

    “Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful”

  • Comfortable beds

    “Clean sheets” “My wife loved the mattress”

  • Great location

    “Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;”

Review highlights

Location

90/100
14 reviews

Great location.

“Near many tourist attractions and eateries” “Excellent location;” “Location is amazing”

Value

83/100
6 reviews

Best value for money.

“Cheap clean and a stones throw from major attractions” “Great value for money” “Complimentary breakfast”

Service

75/100
12 reviews

Friendly service.

“Staff was excellant” “Front desk was very helpful” “Front desk staff were outstanding”

Comfort

54/100
5 reviews

Relatively comfortable, with good beds.

“A/c quit” “Building is noisy” “Noises from next door”

Room

52/100
15 reviews

Awesome beds, and reasonably clean rooms.

“Broken hair dryer” “Shower head was terrible” “Pillows were old and stained”

Review Semantics by TrustYou

Customer Reviews of Econo Lodge Downtown

3.5 out of 5. Based on 180 guest reviews , Average

Property Description

The EconoLodge Downtown offers affordable accommodations in the heart of downtown. This Louisville,KY hotel is ideally located within walking distance of the Kentucky InternationalConvention Center and Fourth Street Live entertainment and retaildistrict.Papa John's Cardinal Stadium, the Louisville Zoo,Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory,Kentucky Six Flags Kingdom theme park and the Louisville International Airport area just minutes away. Interstate65, Interstate71 and Interstate64 area just two blocks away, making us highly accessible to the beautiful downtown area. The University of Louisville, the Kentucky Exposition Center,Sullivan University and the Louisville Science Center area is nearby.A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges can be found in the vicinity. Guests of this Louisville, KY hotel are invited to enjoy many fine features and amenities like: •Freecontinentalbreakfast&freecoffee •Freehigh-speedInternetaccess •Freelocalcalls •Exerciseroom Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like access

Details / Other Expenses

Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Year of Last Renovation: 2010
Floors: 3
Rooms: 97
Corridors: All Rooms Have Exterior Hallways
Non Smoking Rooms: 66
Handicap Rooms: 4
Suites: 1
Room Windows: Windows Do Open
Cleaning Frequency: Daily
Meeting Rooms: 0
Dist. to Food/Bars: 0.5 Mi
Dist. to 24hr Restaurant: 0.5 Mi
Dist. to Nearest Gym: 1.0 Mi
Ownership: Sohum Hotels, LLC
Policies / Expenses
Cancellation:
General Cancellation policy is 24 Hrs Prior to Arrival. But it is different for events and some weekends.
Nightly Parking: 5.00
Total Taxes: 15.50%
Total Misc Fees: $0.00 USD
(mandatory resort fees/taxes)
State Tax: 6.00 Per Night
Occupancy Tax: 7.50 Per Night
City Tax: 1.00 Per Night
Parking Fee: 5.00 Per Night

Amenities / Features


Pet Friendly? Sorry, pets are not allowed.

  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Central location
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Complimentary newspaper
  • Credit card accepted: Mastercard/Visa
  • Credit card accepted: American Express
  • Credit card accepted: Discover
  • Credit card accepted: Diners Club
  • Credit card accepted: JCB
  • Electronic key card
  • Elevator
  • Facilities for the disabled
  • Fax available
  • Fitness and health center
  • Free local calls
  • Hairdryer available
  • Handicap accessible
  • Ice Maker
  • Internet - wireless
  • Ironing facilities
  • Non-smoking rooms
  • 24 hours opened
  • Quiet location
  • Refrigerator
  • Self controlled heating/cooling system
  • Shower
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Telephone in all rooms
  • Television
  • Voicemail

Airport & Shuttle Information

The Airport is about 8 miles from the hotel. One way taxi expense is about $15 to $20.00

Airport Shuttle? Sorry, no airport shuttle available.

About Econo Lodge

  • Easy Starts continental breakfast
  • Offer special promotions and advance purchase deals
  • Free high-speed internet and premium movie channel
  • Convenient locations close to major roads and highways

The Econo Lodge highlights above are subject to change without notice.

Group vs. Individual Rates at Econo Lodge Downtown

Rate fluctuations of Econo Lodge Downtown

This graph illustrates trends of sleeping room prices for both group/meeting prices and the most competitive individual traveler prices we could find at the time the group offer was submitted. The most competitive group discount displayed is 28.2% in the month of January 2015 and the highest average individual rate is $183 in the month of October 2014. This chart will show past seasonality and also project future months. If you are flexible with dates, you may want to consider staying at Econo Lodge Downtown in a month when rates are lower.

Testimonials: Why use Hotel Planner?

Testimonials icon
"I want to commend you and your organization on this service. It was fast, easy, and convenient. The service far exceeded anything I expected and the choices of hotels was wonderful." C.L. - Nashville, TN

Find Out More Check Rates